Gulf Oil Lubricants and Sportscraft to organise the first Monsoon Scooter Autocross in Bhopal – Adarsh Maharashtra

Bhopal, 30th August 2017: Exciting motorsport action in Bhopal next month as Gulf Oil Lubricants and Sportscraft join hands to flag off the Gulf Monsoon Scooter Autocross— some of the country’s leading two-wheeler riders will be seen in action at the Dussehra Maidan, Bittan Market, on September 10th 2017. The Gulf Monsoon Scooter Autocross will be the first such event in India, for scooters.

Over 35 riders have confirmed participation for the time trial event which puts to test the skill of the riders and efficiency of their scooters. Star performer and the winner of Gulf Monsoon Scooter Rally 2017, Mumbai, Venkatesh Shetty of Lorriane’s Racing Team has confirmed his participation for the Bhopal event. Amongst others are dirt track bike/scooter specialists like Mujjaffar Ali, Syed Asif Ali, of Bhopal, Shamim Khan and Anish Nair of Nashik and Aakash Satpute of Aurangabad Pinkesh Thakker of Pune, E Shekharan, and Nidhi Shukla of Mumbai.

All of them have the experience of riding in Mumbai’s popular Gulf Monsoon Scooter Rally which is known for its gravel-laden, water-logged stretches with steep inclines and hairpin bends.

Mr. Shrikant Karani, Founder, Sportscraft informed, “This is the first time that an Monsoon Scooter Autocross is being staged in the country exclusively for scooters and it is a big boost for a humble scooter.”

Mr. Ravi Chawla, Managing Director, Gulf Oil Lubricants India Ltd., “With the commencement of Gulf Monsoon Scooter Autocross, we are entering into a new phase of Gulf Monsoon Scooter Rally, a unique endurance race event in the country. Participation in the rally continuously increased over the years and so the demand for organising it in various parts of the country. We are excited to host the very first Gulf Monsoon Autocross in Bhopal and we wish that it will secure the same passion for endurance racing and enthusiasm of the participants will make it a rage similar to its predecessor.”    

The event has been receiving participation from various parts of the country and the interest is continuously growing. Similarly, Syed Asif Ali and Shamim Khan, along with Ashwarya PM, have been entered by TVS Racing Team in the class for scooters up to 210cc – 4 Stroke Group-B.

TVS Racing Team has also entered three riders in the class for scooters 210cc-4 stroke Group B. They are Imran Pasha J, Akash Satpude and Ms Shreya S. Entries from a couple of other leading scooter manufacturers are also expected.

Scrutiny of vehicles and briefing for the riders will be on September 9, while on Sunday, September 10, the actual event commences at 10 am.

For those who are unaware of this branch of motorsport, an Autocross is strictly a competitive event. It is for those who have a liking for speed and daredevilry. One need not have past experience as a race rider to be part of the competition. Basic riding skills, like braking and negotiating sharp curves, are all that are needed.

Participants will have to ride around a specially chalked out zig-zag course and each will be timed to the hundredth of a second. A ‘touch’ to any of the obstacles along the course will entail a penalty of ten seconds per touch, which will be added to the final time registered by the participant during his routine.

A maximum of 6 riders is required to form each class. The length of the course is approximately 500 metres and participants will have to cover two laps around the winding circuit during which they will be timed to the 100th of a second.

Ranking will be in ascending order. The one with the least time clocked in covering the course, after calculating the penalties incurred, will be adjudged the winner.

Competition will be held in the following groups and classifications:

1)         Scooters upto Under 110 cc (2 stroke, Group C)

2)         Scooters upto Under 110cc  (4 stroke, Group C)

3)         Scooters 110cc to 160 cc (4 stroke, Group C)

4)         Scooters 110cc to 160 cc (2 stroke, Group C)

5)         Scooters upto  210 cc (4 stroke, Group B)

6)         Ladies Open Class Scooters upto 160 cc (2&4 stroke Group C).

Riding gear, like crash helmets, shoes, full gloves, goggles/spectacles, thick cord/cotton denim or fire resistant materials are compulsory.

The closing date for Standard entries is Thursday, August 31, 2017 at 1400 hours; while for late entries it is Monday, September 4 at 1300 hours.

Entry fees are as follows:  Standard: Individual Rs 400; Commercial sponsored Rs 900; Manufacturer team Rs 1300.

Late: Individual Rs 700; Commercial sponsored Rs 1300; Manufacturer team Rs 1800.

For more details contact Sportscraft office, Chitrakut, 3rd floor, Siri Road, Chowpatty Bandstand, Mumbai – 400006,Tel: 23677631. Web: – / Facebook: Sportscraft India.

*To new participants for the Bhopal event – Sportscraft representative Mr Shekhar will be stationed from 10 am till 3pm on 31st Aug 2017 to accept their entries:-

For enquires:

Address:        Virsons Automobiles,

B-93 Kasturba Nagar,

Near Chetak Bridge,

Opp. Bank of Maharashtra (Gautam Nagar side),

Bhopal – 462023

Telphone:      +91 7552583319

Related posts

The most iconic legends of international cricket players will be part of the revolutionary new tournament, The Indian Masters T10.


Dravid, Rohit and Kohli give up business class seats for Team India fast bowlers


Skechers announces the 3rd Edition of Skechers Mumbai Walkathon with Kriti Sanon


Leave a Comment