Breaking NewsEditor's PicksSports

The Tennis Premier League Just Got Bigger as Bengal Wizards Is Gearing Up to Play in Season 5

Mumbai, 29th May 2023: The Tennis Premier League on Monday announced their latest franchise Bengal Wizards owned by the Wardwizard Group which is led by Chairman, Mr. Yatin Gupte and Kolkata-born tennis icon Leander Paes, who is the driving force behind the Bengal Franchise, graced the event with their presence. The announcement was made at a grand ceremony in Mumbai at the Club Millennium Juhu Tennis Courts.

Bengal Wizards will be in action in season 5 of the Tennis Premier League along with Pune Jaguars, owned by Sonali Bendre, Hyderabad Strikers, owned by Rakul Preet Singh, Bengaluru Spartans with Sania Mirza as ambassador and Punjab Tigers, owned by Taapsee Pannu. The Season 5 of the league will be played in December 2023.

The Wardwizard group strives for innovation with Joy e-Bike as one of the flagship brands, among others including Quikshef and Snack Buddy under its umbrella. The group also has its reach across multiple verticals including Automobiles, FMCG Medicare, and Aviation.

Speaking on his association with the league, Mr. Yatin Gupte, Chairman, Wardwizard Group said, “The Tennis Premier League is transforming the landscape of tennis in India with its revolutionary format and high-octane matches. Co-founders Kunal and Mrunal have done a brilliant job, providing the private sector a golden opportunity to invest in the sport in India. We, as an organisation, are always searching for innovative ideas for a brighter future, which ties in well with the ethos of the league.”

“Bengal has a magical connection with sports. Hence, the name Bengal Wizards fit perfectly. We hope to mesmerise fans with our magical performance on court,” the visionary businessmen and sports enthusiast added.
Indian Tennis Icon Leander Paes, a driving force behind the team further expressed his excitement and said, “It is an honour for me to be part of the Bengal Wizards. Being born in Kolkata, I have a deep connection with Bengal. I learnt how to play the sport in the city of joy, which is also considered the Mecca of Indian tennis. With this team, my bond with tennis and Bengal will only grow stronger. We hope the magical performance of the Bengal Wizards inspire young tennis players from the region.”
Speaking about the addition of the Bengal Wizards ahead of the fifth season, Co-Founder Mr. Kunal Thakkur said, “We are delighted to have Leander be a driving force behind the Bengal Wizards. His expertise will also allow the team to showcase their potential. I am sure the team will add to the rich history of tennis in Bengal and pave the way for future stars to emerge.”
Mr Mrunal Jain, Co-Founder of the league added, “We are grateful to have Bengal Wizards owned by the Wardwizard group join our league. They will certainly add a new dimension to the competition and their presence will make season 5 of the Tennis Premier League bigger than ever before.”

About Tennis Premier League
The Tennis Premier League is a unique tournament that brings to the courts some of the most talented players from across the globe, in a franchise tournament along with a unique and revolutionary format. The Tennis Premier League began in 2018 and there have been four seasons of the tournament so far, and a fifth edition is around the corner. The Tennis Premier League is the brainchild of Mr Kunal Thakkur, and Mr Mrunal Jain, the Co-Founders of the league who started the league to shine a spotlight on the sport of tennis in our nation.
The Tennis Premier League has impressed everyone with the likes of the legendary Leander Paes and Sania Mirza putting their weight behind the movement and even taking up management roles in franchises taking part in the league. Celebrities such as Sonali Bendre, Rakul Preet Singh and Taapsee Pannu are also owners of various franchises that participate in the league.
All teams will play a total of 5 matches to qualify for the semi-finals as the league’s revolutionary format captures the imagination of tennis fans. All matches between two franchises will comprise Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Mixed Doubles and Men’s Doubles. There will be 80 points at stake in each tie between two franchises where each category would be worth 20 points. Each team will play a total of 400 points (80 points x 5 matches) at the league stage. All games of the Tennis Premier League will be played in the Balewadi Stadium in Pune. The Tennis Premier League will be conducted in association with the All-India Tennis Association (AITA) and Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA).

Related posts

EaseMyTrip signs a MoU with the Ministry of Rural Development to empower members of Self Help Groups in 800 districts under the Lakhpati Didi Yojana


Get Ready To Take A Ride On An Emotional Rollercoaster This Summer With Inside Out 2, Releasing June 14


India Shelter Finance Corporation Limited: Initial Public Offer of ₹1200 crore to open on December 13, 2023


Leave a Comment